Luang Prabang Day 3 (Jan 13): Sunshine!

Today we slept in again, taking advantage of our lovely dark and quiet hotel.  We ate breakfast at our hotel and just hung out for a bit enjoying the first sunshine we had seen in days (yay sun and vitamin D!) then went to explore the royal palace!  We got there and needed a bit to get oriented and figure out where to buy tickets and where to store our things.  They don’t allow you to take cameras or bags inside the palace so we were looking for the storage lockers.  By the time we figured it all out it was close to 11:30 and apparently they take a 2 hour lunch break from 11:30 to 1:30 so we weren’t even allowed to go!  We decided to head down the street to the street stalls where we got lunch the day before and grab some noodles and a sandwich.  After lunch we decided to keep walking to explore a new part of town and unfortunately I had the urge to go #2…defcon 6 as Michael would say!  We tried to find a bathroom and found one in the back of a market – needless to say there was no place to sit and only a bowl to squat over.  Unfortunately, my aim was not as good as I had hoped and for once I left a local bathroom much worse than I found it!  We immediately left the market and headed off in a new direction!  Not fun in the moment but as we have learned to say, ‘it will make a good story later!’  We walked around, looked at the river and enjoyed the view then I headed back to the cafe where we had great internet and Michael headed home for a nap (because why not!)  and I went back to our favorite cafe to hang out.  We hung out for the afternoon instead of going back to the royal palace since I wasn’t feeling 100% and then we headed out for dinner.  I wasn’t feeling great so Michael went to get BBQ meat in the market and I found a little bakery next door to get amazing apple bread/cake.  

Leave a comment